First week

Welp. My first week at Farm Sanctuary is dunzo!

Most of the work this week has been taking it all in and getting use to working on the farm. It’s not all hard work, as most of it is pretty physical labor. I’m probably going to have tone muscles by the end of my internship lol. Although I felt discouraged during one of the days that I worked because it took me longer to do a task than regular time but baby steps. It all takes practice. I can’t believe it’s only been a week and it feels like months have flown by. I guess that’s what happens when you’re surrounded by nature: time does not matter.

Although it’s been my first week, I do feel a little homesick to be honest. I miss my friends, I miss my family and I definitely miss my cats. I’m hoping not to feel homesick too much as my time goes on here. I never realized that 3 months is a long time. What makes my time away from home worth it are the animals that I get to know everyday. It makes a difference on my part.

I am hoping this week goes a little better seeing as we have a Valentine’s Day event coming up in a couple of days. Hopefully I can celebrate my birthday with some animals. Oh did I forget to mention that I’m a valentine’s day baby? My bad 🙂 I’ll write more as this week goes on!

-Modern Day Vegan

P.S. Happy National Pizza day! I’m off to eat gluten-free vegan pizza 😛

Leave a comment